Posted in Baby

Interested in Cloth Diapers?!

ec7a506bc21f0198b04ec0890414095b.jpg

My journey with cloth diapering started about 4 months ago! I was actually really surprised that I wanted to try them. To me they just seemed like a huge pain in the you know what! BUT I love saving $$… so I started doing some research and I was surprised with how simple cloth diapering actually seemed. I started researching on Pinterest (of course) and found a TON of awesome pages (links below). Since I am a stay-at-home Mom during the week I definitely had the time to do it so I bought my first set of pocket cloth diapers from Alvababy  . I was so excited when they arrived! We are not strictly a cloth diapering family… we use disposable diapers as well because sometimes its just easier depending on the circumstance! However, because we use cloth diapers 80% of the time we do save a lot of $$ each month! It’s awesome.

You probably wonder how many diapers you’ll need. Keep in mind that newborns and infants generally need 10 to 12 changes a day; toddlers need 8 to 10. Invest in enough diapers so that you only have to do a wash every 2 to 3 days. Disposables and cloth diapers should be changed every 2 hours.

After changing your baby, Rinse diapers off in hot water (this is step 1 to killing bacteria) then throw them into the dry pail.

Wash with care. Follow these basic steps to wash cloth diapers:

  • Remove inserts from pocket diapers
  • Begin with a cold rinse, no detergent.
  • After the cold rinse, run a regular wash cycle on hot, following the instructions on laundry detergent package. I use Molly’s Suds and love it! It works great!
  • Follow up with an extra rinse on warm/hot.
  • Lay out in the sun to dry (this is the bleaching/sanitizing process). Avoid the dryer if possible (Use tumble/dry low if you must)

 

4 Main Cloth Diaper Types 

Diaper sprayer shield

You can also make a DIY sprayer shield by taking a small trash can and cutting the bottom out. Use a big chip clip or 2 small ones to secure the diapers to the side while spraying into toilet.

DIY-Splatter-Shield-for-Spraying-Cloth-DiapersDiaper Sprayer

One thought on “Interested in Cloth Diapers?!

Leave a Reply

